ISBN-EAN Barcode

What is it used for?

The ISBN-EAN (International Standard Book Number) barcode-type is also known as Bookland EAN. It is used to mark books internationnally. The barcode includes the ISBN number, wich identifies the product (the book).

What are the specifications?

The ISBN-EAN is also an EAN bar code (click here for more informations on the EAN13 barcode-type). The first three digits are always 978, which indicates that this barcode is related to a book product. The next nine digits are the 9 first digits of the ISBN number. The last digit of the ISBN code (key) isn't encoded. The last digit of the barcode is the EAN checksum key wich depends on the others to help the electronic reading of the barcode.

How to get a code?

If you need an ISBN number, contact isbn.org if you're located in the U.S.A. or a regional ISBN agency otherwise (here is a list), they are responsible for assigning this codes.

How to use Barres to generate the code?

Select EAN13 for the barcode-type, then type a 12 digits number containing 978, then the 9 first digits of your ISBN numer (don't type the hyphens) in the input field, then click on OK. The 13th digit (checksum) is automatically added to the code and the bar code is generated in a window. You can then copy/paste it or save it in EPSF (encapsuled PostScript) or PICT format (resolution-independant graphic) for printing.

How does ISBN-EAN barcodes look like?

Here are a few samples of ISBN-EAN barcodes, generated with Barres.

 Images at real size
ISBNEAN_978123456789          ISBNEAN_978987654321
Image at 200%
ISBNEAN_978123456789x2
Part of image at 300 dpi
ISBNEAN_978123456789(300)

Something else?

You can find usefull informations or help there:
The international ISBN agency for the registration of your compagny and/or informations
Barcode1: More on ISBN-EAN barcodes, and much more...

Codes-barres ISBN-EAN

Quelle utilisation?

Le type de code à barres ISBN-EAN (International Standard Book Number) est aussi connu sous le terme Bookland EAN. Il est utilisé internationalement pour marquer des livres. Le code-barres inclut le code ISBN, qui identifie le produit (le livre).

Quelles en sont les spécifications?

Le code ISBN-EAN est aussi un code-barres EAN (cliquez ici pour plus d'informations sur le code EAN). Les trois premiers chiffres sont toujours 978, ce qui indique que le code à barre est relatif à un livre. Les neuf chiffres suivants sont les 9 premiers chiffres du code ISBN. Le dernier chiffre du nombre ISBN (la clef) n'est pas encodé. Le dernier chiffre du code-barres est la clef EAN (somme de contrôle) qui est dépendante des autres chiffres et aide à la lecture électronique du code à barres.

Comment se faire attribuer un code?

Si vous avez besoin d'un code ISBN, contactez l'Agence Francophone pour la Numérotation Internationale du Livre (AFNIL) si vous vous trouvez en France ou une agence nationale d'ISBN (vous trouverez une liste ici), ils sont responsable de l'attribution de ces codes.

Comment utiliser Barres pour générer le code?

Sélectionnez le type de code-barres EAN13, puis frappez dans la zone de saisie 978, puis les neuf premiers chiffres de votre code ISBN (ne saisissez pas les tirets), ensuite cliquez sur OK. Le 13ème chiffre (somme de contrôle) est automatiquement ajouté au code et le code-barres est généré dans une fenêtre. Vous pouvez alors le copier/coller ou le sauvegarder dans le format EPSF (PostScript Encapsulé) ou PICT (graphisme indépendant de la résolution) pour l'impression.

A quoi ressemble un code-barres ISBN-EAN?

Voici quelques exemples de code-barres ISBN-EAN, créés avec Barres.

 Images à la taille par défaut
ISBNEAN_978123456789          ISBNEAN_978987654321
Image à 200%
ISBNEAN_978123456789x2
Partie d'une image à 300 dpi
ISBNEAN_978123456789(300)

Quelque chose d'autre?

Vous pouvez trouver des informations utiles ou de l'aide ici:
The international ISBN agency pour l'enregistrement de votre compagnie, ou pour la France: AFNIL
Barcode1: Plus d'informations sur les codes-barres ISBN-EAN, et bien plus encore... (en anglais)